Michigan Conference
United Methodist Archives
Detroit Conference United Methodist Archives Facebook

Commission on Archives & History

About the Commission

Membership and Contact Information

The Commission consists of four clergy members and four lay members nominated by the conference Committee on Nominations and elected by the annual conference for a term of four years with a maximum of two terms.  The current Commission chair is Mary Whitman.

See a list of Commission chairs, 1969 to present.

Role of the Commission

The Commission is the successor to the Historical Society of the Detroit Conference, which existed from 1880 to 1969.  It is charged by the United Methodist Book of Discipline to preserve the history of the United Methodist Church and predecessor denominations within the conference boundaries.  The Commission meets three times a year, including one with a guest lecturer at Annual Conference.  Commission responsibilities include:

Programs and Activities